Back to Work

After 7 months of enjoying little Eli, I went back to work. I would like to say that the transition has been easy but that would be a lie. It’s been grueling.

I had no idea how hard it would be to drop him off at daycare. I knew that it would logically but nothing prepares the heart. Then after only 1.5 days in daycare the center calls to tell me he’s spewing green phlegm from his nose and mouth AND his breathing is labored. We rushed him to the hospital and it turned out to be the flu. Apparently, babies breath heavy when there is a sudden onset of a fever. As soon as I saw him, I knew he was fine. He smiled up at me with his charming grin that he likes to flash for anyone willing to give him the time. Still, it was a scare to end my first work week.

After his temperature subsided, diarrhea arrived in all its green wonder and then I got sick, followed by my husband and by Sunday I thought, hmm, what else could happen? Well, Eli pulled up for the first time when I wasn’t there. Now, this might not seem like much to most but for the past 7 months I’ve been with him for every major/minor milestone and for the first time I wasn’t there.  The tears came then.

But I have to work. Financially this isn’t an option. And to be honest I love my job. It’s a huge part of who I am and it’s nice to return to the land of no naps and breast milk. I truly wish there was two of me. One that stays and cuddles Eli all day and one that gets to be independent.

I really hope this week turns out better. Eli_Jeans

 

Leave a Reply

